Discover the Renewed Magic: The Tourist Circuits in Machu Picchu

Reading : 4 min December 1 2023

Planning a trip is easy! We share with you a complete and simplified guide for your visit to one of the wonders of the world: Machu Picchu.

What will you find here?

  1. Circuit 1
  2. Circuit 2
  3. Circuit 3
  4. Circuit 4
  5. Circuit 4 + Huayna Picchu Mountain
  6. Machu Picchu Mountain + Circuit 3
  7. Circuit 4 + Huchuypicchu Mountain
  8. Circuit 1 or 2 + Inca Bridge
  9. How can I get tickets to Machu Picchu?

If you arrive from abroad and travel from Lima, capital of Peru, after 1 hour and 20 minutes by plane you will enjoy the magic of Cusco.

Continuing with our tour in the city of Cusco, there is an option to buy your train tickets and / or tour packages at Inca Rail. If you bought a “Bus Ticket Service", a bus will take you from the Inca Rail ticket office located on Av. El Sol (one of the main avenues of the city), dropping you off at our waiting room in the Inca city of Ollantaytambo, located in the Sacred Valley of the Incas, for you to board the train for a spectacular journey.


We recommend purchasing our All Inclusive service, which includes: Bus ticket service, entrance to the ruins of Machu Picchu, shared bilingual guide, bus to the citadel, snack and drinks on the train, magic on board thanks to the staging of Ollantay and more.


Adventure time: Choose your preferred circuit


Machu Picchu offers a variety of entrance tickets, which are divided by circuits established by the MINCUL (Ministry of Culture of Peru). Below, you will find information about these circuits to choose from in the ticket “Llaqta of Machu Picchu”.


Circuit 1

Duration: 2 hours approximately

Known as the High area – short tour, it allows you to explore more than half of the Inca citadel. It also includes a visit to the main attractions of the Llaqta of Machu Picchu:

  • The Mirador of the Temple of the Sun

  • The Water Mirror Complex

  • Granitic Chaos and Pisonay Square


*Learn more about the circuit  HERE.

Remember that circuit 1 includes a certified guide in two languages (Spanish and English). This way, you will learn about the history of the citadel while touring its landscapes. This is possible when purchasing the All Inclusive train ticket at Inca Rail.

Circuit 2

Duration: 3 hours approximately

This route is known as the High area – long tour. It includes the high and low area of Machu Picchu, where you can visit, according to availability of MINCUL:

  • The Main Temple

  • The Temple of the 3 Windows

  • Intihuatana Pyramid (from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM)

  • Temple of the Condor (from 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM)

  • The Sacred Rock, among others.


* Learn more about circuit 2 HERE.

This circuit is one of the most complete, as it allows you to visit most of the citadel.

Keep in mind that if you want to take the iconic photo at the House of the Guardian and get to know a large part of the most important archaeological site in Cusco, these first two circuits are recommended.

Circuit 3

Duration: 1.5 hours approximately 

The Low area – short tour lasts approximately 1.5 hours. It is one of the shortest tours which allows you to visit the lower part of Machu Picchu. Note that this circuit does not include access to the House of the Guardian, where you can take the classic photo of Machu Picchu. This circuit gives you the opportunity to observe archaeological sites, according to MINCUL availability, such as:

  • Qolqas

  • The Agricultural Area

  • Temple of the Sun

  • The House of the Inka


*Learn more about circuit 3 HERE.

Circuit 4

Duration: 2.5 hours approximately

The Low area – long tour has a duration of approximately 2.5 hours. It starts at the lower part up to the entrance gate of Huayna Picchu Mountain and Huchuypicchu Mountain. Keep in mind that although it does not give you the opportunity to take the postcard photo in the House of the Guardian, it allows you to observe symbolic places, according to availability of MINCUL, such as:

  • Ceremonial Fountains

  • The Water Mirror Complex

  • The House of the Inka, Agricultural Area, among others.


*Learn more about circuit 4 HERE.

Remember: You must purchase this ticket “Llaqta of Machu Picchu” approximately 1 or 2 months in advance so you can have the opportunity to choose any of the 04 circuits you wish to visit. It is worth mentioning that these last two circuits require less physical training since the tour is done in the lower part. 

If you want to explore Machu Picchu in depth, choose the circuit and mountain of your interest:

In addition to these established circuits offered by the ticket “Llaqta of Machu Picchu”, there are also other tickets for visiting the main mountains surrounding the citadel and some circuits. Details are as follows:

Circuit 4 + Huayna Picchu Mountain:

It is recommended for experienced travelers who love trekking, as it is a hike that requires physical effort. You can hike to the top of the Huayna Picchu mountain, located at 2,693 m.a.s.l. The citadel can also be visited on circuit 4.

There is a limited capacity for this tour, so it must be purchased well in advance.


Machu Picchu Mountain + Circuit 3:

This ticket includes the visit to the citadel by circuit 3. In addition, you can access the Machu Picchu mountain, located at 3,082 m.a.s.l. It is recommended for adventurous travelers, as it requires physical effort and for photography lovers, as it offers panoramic landscapes of the place, perfect for a postcard. Do not forget that the entrance hours are between 7 and 9 am, since the ascent and descent takes between 3 - 4 hours approximately.

Circuit 4 + Huchuypicchu Mountain

Located at 2,497 m.a.s.l., it is a small mountain next to Huayna Picchu. This ticket is designed for travelers who love adventure because this hike is short but intense. You can also access the citadel in circuit 4. The visiting hours of this mountain is until 1 pm.

Circuit 1 or 2 + Inca Bridge:

It is designed for travelers who love hiking. This ticket allows you to visit the Inca Bridge, an Inca construction made of stone and wood that was used by the Incas as one of the limits of the citadel. In addition, you will visit the citadel in circuits 1 or 2. The tour lasts approximately 30 minutes.

And now, how can I get tickets for Machu Picchu?

Buy your tickets to Machu Picchu easily, following the steps below:

  1.  Visit this link of MINCUL (Ministry of Culture of Peru):

  2.  Fill in your personal data.

  3. Select your payment method.

  4. DONE! You will have your ticket to Machu Picchu.

  5. Read HERE our article with more information and details.

Foto-Puente Inca

Remember that purchasing the All Inclusive Service with Inca Rail offers you access to the entrance “Llaqta of Machu Picchu” in Circuit 1 or 2 and includes shared bilingual guide, bus to the Citadel, snack and drink on the train, magic on board thanks to the staging of Ollantay and more.

Last call! Don’t put off your trip and get ready to discover the magic and mysticism of Machu Picchu with Inca Rail. Buy your tickets HERE.


Suscribe to receive the latest news of Incarail